Meeting your need to know and grow

Important Information: How DLA Operates


List of Award Recipients

We are creating lists of past recipients of DLA Awards, Citations, and Scholarships. This is a work in progress.

Citation | Distinguished Librarian Citation | Distinguished Service Citation | Library or Institutional Award | Media Award | Life Member | Special



DLA Citation

1982 Florence Brown

DLA Distinguished Librarian Citation

2009 P.J. Grier
2009 Thomas Weaver (posthumous)
2008 Bill Smith, Wilmington University Library
2007 not awarded
2006 Jacqueline Harris, Past Chair, Governor’s Task Force on School Libraries
2005 Julie Brewer and Suzanne Smith
2004 Charlesa Lowell (posthumous) and Joan Stover
2003 not awarded?
2002 Dr. Sandra Millard, University of Delaware Library
2001 Dr. Margaret Prouse, Terry Campus, Delaware Technical and Community College
2000 Tom Sloan ?
1982 Helen St. Clair


DLA Distinguished Service Citation

2014 Senator Christopher Coons
2008 Bonnie Maull, Friend, Selbyville Library
2007 Sandra Burton, The Lightbulb Lady
2006 Jack Markell, State Treasurer
2005 Rick Geisenberger, Assistant Secretary of State
2004 Dr. Harriet Smith Windsor, Secretary of State
2003 Lewis (Skipper) Purnell, Council On Libraries
2002 Elizabeth Cranston Baxter, President, Friends of Delaware Libraries
2001 Joseph DiPinto, State Representative
2000 Ed Freel, Secretary of State
1999 Richard Davis, State Representative
1998 Robert Stickels, Sussex County Executive
1997 Michael N. Castle, Delaware Representative, U.S. Congress
1996 Dennis Greenhouse, New Castle County Executive


DLA Library or Institutional Award

2005 Delaware Division of Libraries
2001 Delaware Division of Libraries


DLA Media Award

For Outstanding Reporting on Delaware Libraries

2009 Sarika Jagtiani, Dover Post
2002 Comcast Newsmakers
2001 Mike Billington, News Journal
2000 Rosanne Pack, Cape Gazette
Mike McClure, Sussex Countian
Karen Welch, Harrington Journal
1999 Robin Brown, News Journal
1998 Tom Eldred, Delaware State News
1997 Drew Phinney, WDEL
1996 Sandy Dennison, News Journal


Life Member

2009 David Burdash
1997 Grace Husted

Special Award for Literacy

1997 Ruth Ann Minner, Lt. Governor, State of Delaware


Grace Estelle Wheeless Scholarship

2009 Puller Adkins
2004 Debra Lloyd
1997 Kathy Graybeal

Helen H. Bennett Scholarship

2004 Heidi Tice
2002 Vincent Alascia, Wesley College;
Jamie Weisenstein, Dover Public Library
1997 Anne Norman



Friend of School Libraries Award

1997 Dr. Iris Metts


2009 Sue McKone, Sussex Central High School

Outstanding Administrator Award for Excellence

2004 Dean Ivory, Principal, Lake Forest High School
1997 Dr. Cherly Morton

Outstanding Library/Media Specialist

2004 Tom Swain, Hodgson Vo Tech, New Castle
2002 Dr. Robert D. Smith, Supt. Milford School District
1997 Anne Norman



Public Library Division Recognition

2009 Richard L. Krueger, Sr.

PLD Outstanding Volunteer or Friend

2002 Carol Harrington, Bear Public Library


The Delaware Library Association website is hosted by the University of Delaware Library. Their support is greatly appreciated. The site is maintained by: Rebecca Knight, Reference Department, University of Delaware Library.
© 2008 - Delaware Library Association c/o Delaware Division of Libraries, 121 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd North, Dover, Delaware 19901   Last update: 12/19/14