header Area1 Area2 Area3 Area4 Area5 Area6 Area7 Area8

UDLA Board Elections


    The University of Delaware Library Associates, the “friends group” of the University of Delaware Library, held the annual meeting of the Board of Directors on Wednesday, November 15, 2006, and elected the following officers for calendar year 2007:  Wilson J. C. Braun, Jr., Managing Director, J.P. Morgan Private Bank, as President; Michael Olin Clark, Principal, Legg Mason Investment Counsel as Senior Vice-President; The Honorable Helen S. Balick, Retired Chief Judge, U.S. Bankruptcy Court, as Vice-President; Dr. J. A. Leo Lemay, Winterthur Professor of English, University of Delaware, as Treasurer; Joseph P. Melloy, Sr., Senior Higher Education Consultant, Computer Aid Incorporated (CAI), as Secretary; and Susan Brynteson, the May Morris Director of Libraries, University of Delaware, as Assistant Secretary/Treasurer.

     The Board of Directors of the University of Delaware Library Associates has rotating terms.  Members of the Board elected for the term 2007-2009 were:  Mrs. Marsha Barnett, Mr. Wilson J.C Braun, Jr., Mr. Thomas C.T. Brokaw, Mr. J. David Cist, Mr. Michael O. Clark, Mrs. Mary Jane Elliott, Mr. Eldon Homsey, Mr. Theodore F. Killheffer, Mr. W. Oliver Kincannon, Mr. Joseph P. Melloy, Sr., Mrs. Josephine Clapp Osbun, Dr. John A. Quintus, Mr. William H. Sudell, Jr., Mr. John B. Tepe, Jr., and Dr. Marguerite D. Thew.

    Founded in 1958, the University of Delaware Library Associates work to expand and enrich the research collections of the University of Delaware Library through gifts from individual members, funds raised by sponsored programs, and by donations of significant books.

    Each year contributions of the University of Delaware Library Associates assist financially with the acquisition of rare library materials, sponsor an exhibition opening reception and an exhibition publication to promote Special Collections, support a June lecture program in the Morris Library featuring the research of a University of Delaware faculty member, and sponsor an Annual Dinner that includes a presentation by a nationally recognized author.  Members also receive a semiannual Newsletter of the University of Delaware Library Associates, exhibition catalogs, and a journal called Collections

    The University of Delaware Library Associates’ Annual Dinner will be held on the evening of Monday, April 30, 2007, at which Nathaniel Philbrick, award-winning author of Mayflower and In the Heart of the Sea will be the featured speaker.

    New members are actively solicited for membership in the University of Delaware Library Associates.  Annual contributions begin for Friends at $35.00 and or Students at $5.00.  To request a printed membership brochure or a printed dinner invitation, interested persons can send an e-mail message to or contact the Office of the Director of Libraries at 302-831-2231.  An online version of the membership brochure may be found at http://www2.lib.udel.edu/udla/.

2006 UDLA Board photo

Members of the Board of Directors of the University of Delaware Library Associates at the annual meeting on Wednesday, November 15, 2006, which was held in the Class of 1941 Lecture Room in the Morris Library.  Board members present included left to right seated:  Mrs. Marion Silliman, Mrs. Marsha Barnett, Mrs. Josephine Clapp Osbun, Mrs. Margaret H. Perkins, Mr. Mark Samuels Lasner, and Mr. J. David Cist.   Standing 1st row: The Honorable Bernard Balick, Mr. Robert H. Richards III, The Honorable Helen S. Balick, Ms. Ann H. McKelvie, Mr. Richard L. Dayton, Mr. John A.H. Sweeney, and Mrs. Frances O. Allmond.   Standing 2nd row:   The Honorable Vance A. Funk III, The Honorable William T. Quillen, Mr. Robert D. Fleck, Jr., Mr. Michael O. Clark, Miss Susan Brynteson, Mr. Gordon A. Pfeiffer, Mr. Edmond L. Lincoln, Mr. J.A. Leo Lemay, Mr. Joseph P. Melloy, Sr., Mr. Wilson J.C. Braun, Jr., Mr. John B. Tepe, Jr., and Mr. Charles M. Allmond III.


- End -
For Library hours call 302-831-BOOK or check the Library Web at: www.lib.udel.edu



Home dot DELCAT dot Databases dot Electronic Journals dot Subjects A-Z dot Forms dot Reserves dot Ask a Librarian
Copyright © 2010 University of Delaware Library