Student Assistant Appreciation Reception

    The University of Delaware Library thanked its many library student assistants at the Library Student Assistant Appreciation Reception on Wednesday, May 6, 2009.  Since July 1, 2008, 177 library student assistants have worked more than 43,900 hours, the equivalent of 21 full-time staff.   The Library could not provide the level of services or hours of operation without its student workers. The reception provided an opportunity for Library staff to thank the student assistants who performed essential “front-line” services such as checking-out library and reserve materials; shelving new and returned books, journals, and newspapers; checking-in new journals, newspapers, and other periodicals; processing interlibrary loan requests; assisting library users with multimedia equipment and software; and many other information-related duties.

     The Library also recognized 42 graduating library student assistants for their academic achievements.   The highlight of the reception was a display of books selected by the graduating library student assistants from current library acquisitions in which special bookplates with their name and year of graduation were inserted.   The selected titles reflected the personal and academic interests of each of the graduating library student assistants, as well as current events.   The books selected by members of the Class of 2009 ranged from:  Mr. Lincoln’s Book: Publishing the Lincoln-Douglas Debates, with a Census of Signed Copies, by David H. Leroy; to What Obama Means: For Our Culture, Our Politics, Our Future, by Jabari Asim; to Chocolate: History, Culture, and Heritage, edited by Louis Evan Grivetti and Howard-Yana Shapiro.

    Two special awards were also presented.  Richard Duong and Brendan Forbes received the 2009 Library Student Assistant Service Awards for each having worked more than 1,600 hours at the University of Delaware Library.

    Megan Fisher, Student Assistant in the Instructional Media Collection Department, also received special recognition for her recent award of a Fulbright Scholarship.  She will graduate in Spring 2009 with a B.S. in Biology with a concentration in Molecular and Cell Biology and Genetics.  The Fulbright award will take her to the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU) in Munich, Germany, where she will work at the Helmholtz Zentrum Munchen (German Research Center for Environmental Health).  Ms. Fisher will work with Dr. Jochen Graw on a project investigating the role of beta B2-crystallin in intracellular signaling from September 2009- July 2010.

Pictured from left to right (Back Row): Gary Donatello, Ryan Dietz, Janoah Wynn, Ying Chen, Megan Fisher, Jacob Hiller,
Anna Grosso, Brianne Brown, James Boulden, Jennifer Sun, Jennifer Reefe, Katie Kilgore, and  Amber Bonsall.  
(Front Row): Derek Alleyne, Jennifer Olkewicz, Joshua Morales,  Richard Duong, Laura Vazquez, Brittany Burris, Stracy Redis, Brendan Forbes, and Jonathan Ernst.