Smoke-Free Libraries

The University of Delaware Library, that is, the Hugh M. Morris Library and the four branch libraries (Agriculture Library, Chemistry Library, Marine Studies Library, and Physics Library) are smoke-free libraries as of August 1, 1993. This policy supersedes any previous Library policy related to smoking.

This action was taken in response to the danger of second-hand smoke, complaints and concerns raised by many library users, and in order to prevent damage to and preserve the Library collection.

Approved by the Library Executive Council
Februrary 3, 1994