header Area1 Area2 Area3 Area4 Area5 Area6 Area7 Area8

Guides to Genealogy:

A Research Guide


Contents:
General Guides | Special Topics | Delaware

There are many useful guides and introductions to conducting genealogical research. Beginners should consult these to get an overview of strategies and methodologies for research. Most of them can be found in the CS16 to CS21 call number areas in the Reference Collection and in the stacks (third floor).

General Guides

The Source: A Guidebook of American Genealogy. Rev. ed. Salt Lake City: Ancestry Publishing Company, 1997.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Reference (Ref CS49 .S65 1997)
Beard, Timothy Field. How to Find Your Family Roots. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1977.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Reference (Ref CS16 .B35)
Includes sources of information in each state and all foreign countries. For Delaware, see pp. 192-195.
Bremer, Ronald A. Compendium of Historical Sources: The How and Where of American Genealogy. Salt Lake City: Butterfly Publications, 1983.
LOCATION: Morris Library (CS49 .B74 1983)
Charting Your Family History.
LOCATION: Internet (http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/units/cts/acq/familyind.html)
Online copies of several guides to research and guides to collections. Includes many NARA publications. Publications are in PDF format.
Doane, Gilbert H. and James B. Bell. Searching for Your Ancestors: The How and Why of Genealogy. 6th ed. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 1992.
LOCATION: Morris Library (DS16 .D6 1992)
Everton, George B. The Handy Book for Genealogists. 8th ed. Logan, UT: Everton Publishers, 1991.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Reference (Ref CS47 .E9 1991)
Genealogical Research at the Library of Congress. (PDF)
LOCATION: Internet (http://ublib.buffalo.edu/libraries/e-resources/ebooks/images/grlc.pdf)
LOCATION: Morris Library - U.S. Documents (U.S. Doc LC 1.2: G 28/2001)
Gilmer, Lois C. Genealogical Research and Resources: A Guide for Library Use. Chicago: American Library Association, 1988.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Reference (Ref Z688 .G3G54 1988)
Genealogists/Family Historians.
LOCATION: Internet (http://www.archives.gov/genealogy/)
The best Internet guide on the collections at National Archives. Includes catalogs of microfilm publications and guides for special types of research.
Greenwood, Val D. The Researcher's Guide to American Genealogy. 3d ed. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Company, 2000.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Reference (Ref CS47 .G79 2000)
Helmbold, F. Wilbur. Tracing Your Ancestry: A Step-by-Step Guide to Researching Your Family History. Birmingham, AL: Oxmoor House, 1976.
LOCATION: Morris Library (CS16 .H4)
Wright, Norman E. Preserving Your American Heritage: A Guide to Family and Local History. Provo, UT: Brigham Young University Press, 1981.
LOCATION: Morris Library (CS47 .W68 1981)

Special Topics

Blockson, Charles L. with Ron Fry. Black Genealogy. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice Hall, 1977.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Reference (Ref CS21 .B55)
The Center: A Guide to Genealogical Research in the National Capital Area. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1996.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Reference (Ref CS44 .S33 1996)
The Encyclopedia of Jewish Genealogy. Northvale, NJ: J. Aronson, 1991- .
LOCATION: Morris Library - Reference (Ref CS21 .E53 1991)
Ethnic Genealogy: A Research Guide. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1983.
LOCATION: Morris Library (CS49 .E83 1983)
Guide to Genealogical Research in the National Archives. 3rd ed. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Service, 2000.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Reference (Ref CS68 .U533 2000)
The best guide on the collections at National Archives. Also see "Genealogists/Family Historians".
Kurzweil, Arthur. From Generation to Generation: How to Trace Your Jewish Genealogy and Family History. Rev. ed. New York: Harper Collins, 1994.
LOCATION: Morris Library (CS21 .K87 1994)
Lawson, Sandra M. Generations Past: A Selected List of Sources for Afro-American Genealogical Research. Washington, DC: Library of Congress, 1988.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Reference (Ref E185.96 .L38x 1988)
LOCATION: Morris Library - U.S. Docs (LC1.12/2:Af 8/4)
Woodtor, Dee. Finding a Place Called Home: A Guide to African-American Genealogy and Historical Identity. New York: Random House, 1999.
LOCATION: Morris Library (Ref E185.96 .W69 1999)
Young, Tommie M. Afro-American Genealogy Sourcebook. New York: Garland, 1987.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Reference (Ref E185.96 .Y67 1987)

Delaware

Delaware Genealogical Research Guide. 3d ed. Wilmington, DE: Delaware Genealogical Society, 2002.
LOCATION: Morris Library - Reference (Ref F163 .D349 2002)
LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections (Del F163 .D349 2002)
The most important guide for doing genealogical research in Delaware. It covers specific types of records and where they can be found in the state. Edited by Thomas P. Doherty and published by the Delaware Genealogical Society (http://delgensoc.org).

This page is maintained by Rebecca Knight, Reference Department.
Questions or comments?
Version:12/2001
Last modified: 03/10/06

Home dot DELCAT dot Databases dot Electronic Journals dot Subjects A-Z dot Forms dot Reserves dot Ask a Librarian
Copyright © 2008 University of Delaware Library