| HISTORY |
| Resources: Databases E-Journals E-Books > Internet Resources Research Guides Other UD Resources Suggest Purchase |
| Internet Resources for Related Subjects: |
| Contact: David L. Langenberg Associate Librarian (302) 831-1668 |
![]() |
|
These are links to publicly accessible databases. For subscribed databases, go to Databases for History.
APIS: Advanced Papyrological Information System
Descriptions of the papyri and other written materials in the collections of the participating institutions (UC-Berkeley, Columbia, Duke, Michigan, Princeton, and Yale), digital images of many of these texts, and connections to databases with the texts themselves in their original languages and with bibliography about the texts. Many of the descriptions include full translations into English.
The Avalon Project at the Yale Law
School
Digital documents relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and
government.
Cold War
Web site of CNN’s 24-part television series. It includes video previews and multimedia recaps of each episode; video, audio, and text excerpts from nearly 100 interviews filmed for the series; text from archival documents and contemporaneous Time and Russian newspaper stories; in-depth sections on Cold War culture; and a Knowledge Bank section containing a glossary, “Cold Warrior” profiles, related links, and a chronology.
Cold War International History Project
The project supports the full and prompt release of historical materials by governments on all sides of the Cold War, and seeks to disseminate new information and perspectives on Cold War history emerging from previously inaccessible sources in the former Communist bloc.
Collage (Corporation of London Library and Art Gallery
Electronic)
An image database of approximately 20,000 items from the collections of the Guildhall Library and the Guildhall Art Gallery of London, a notable resource for those seeking visual materials related to the history of the city of London.
DScriptorium
Devoted to collecting, storing, and distributing digital images of medieval manuscripts.
Early Canadiana Online
A full-text online collection of more than 3,000 books and pamphlets documenting Canadian history from the first European contact to the late 19th century. The collection is particularly strong in literature, women’s history, native studies, travel and exploration, and the history of French Canada.
Eighteenth Century Studies (English Server)
A collection of eighteenth-century works—novels, plays, memoires, treatises, and poems.
Gnomon Online
A searchable database of titles from 430 Classical journals, including a number of major publications concerned with biblical studies. In German, but accessible in English.
Gutenberg Digital
A digitized Gutenberg Bible. The 1282 pages of the Bible at Goettingen, one of four complete, illuminated copies on vellum, have been scanned with a high-end professional digital camera, with careful attention paid to create faithful reproductions of the 88 illuminated, partly gilded pages. Among the ancillary material is Helmasperger’s Notarial Instrument (6th November 1455), dealing with Gutenberg’s invention, known as the
“Werk der Buecher” (work of books) and Gutenberg’s business relations
with Johannes Fust.
Historical Text Archive (Mississippi State University)
Large collection of historical texts, photos, and maps with links to resources elsewhere.
History On-Line
Sponsored by the Institute for Historical Research in London, this site provides information on books and articles published by the leading academic history publishers in the UK; current and past research, with details of all history theses completed since 1970; and seminars which have been held at the IHR.
Hoover Institution Library Pamphlet Database
Bibliographic database of some 55,000 pamphlets, which cover political, social, and economic issues from all over the world, and mainly focus on the twentieth century. The pamphlets themselves, many in delicate condition, may be used only at the Hoover Institution Library, Stanford, California.
In the First Person
Keyword searching of more than 2,500 collections of oral history in English from around the world.
Internet Archive of Texts and Documents
Access to a vast number of historical documents, both primary and secondary sources as well as translated selections. Most of the documents, mainly American and European, are from primary source material.
Internet Library of Early Journals (ILEJ)
ILEJ is a joint project by the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford, conducted under the auspices of the eLib (Electronic Libraries) Programme. It aims to digitise substantial runs of 18th and 19th century journals, and make these images available on the Internet, together with their associated bibliographic data. The core collection for the project are runs of at least 20 consecutive years of: three 18th-century journals (Gentleman’s Magazine, The Annual Register, and Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society) and three 19th-century journals (Notes and Queries, The Builder, Blackwood’s Edinburgh Magazine).
The Learning Curve (The National Archives, United Kingdom)
Treasures from the National Archives features some of the treasures at the Education and Visitor Centre at Kew, including landmark documents from the past 1000 years of British history. Requires Shockwave plug-in.
Magazine Stacks
Tables of contents of historical journals, monographic series, and occasional volumes primarily in
German and English.
Marxists Internet Archive
Features Marxist Writers, History Archive, Subject Archive, Reference Writers, and Encyclopedia of Marxism.
The National Archives: Records of the UK Government from Domesday to the Present
The National Archives, which covers England, Wales, and the United Kingdom, was formed in April 2003 by bringing together the Public Record Office and the Historical Manuscripts Commission. It is responsible for looking after the records of central government and the courts of law, and making sure everyone can look at them. The collection is one of the largest in the world and spans an unbroken period from the 11th century to the present day.
Penny Magazine Online
Article abstracts, 1832-1835.
The Proceedings of the Old Bailey London,
1674-1913
A fully searchable online edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London’s central criminal court.
Regesta Imperii Online
“Als Inventar aller urkundlichen und historiographischen Quellen der römisch-deutschen Könige von den Karolingern bis zu Maximilian I. sowie der Päpste des frühen und hohen Mittelalters gehören die Regesta Imperii zu den grossen Quellenwerken zur deutschen und europäischen Geschichte.”
Slave Movement During the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries
This site provides access to the raw data and documentation which contains information on the following slave trade topics from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries: records of slave ship movement between Africa and the Americas, slave ships of eighteenth century France, slave trade to Rio de Janeiro, Virginia slave trade in the eighteenth century, English slave trade (House of Lords Survey), Angola slave trade in the eighteenth century, internal slave trade to Rio de Janeiro, slave trade to Havana, Cuba, Nantes slave trade in the eighteenth century, and slave trade to Jamaica. Free registration required.
Virtual Jamestown
A digital archive of images, artifacts, maps, rare documents, censuses, and other data, along with interpretive essays and a reference center relating to the first permanent English settlement in North America.
Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Information on almost 35,000 slaving voyages that forcibly transported over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteen centuries.
World Lecture Hall
A gateway to online lectures, course outlines, and entire modules on the Web.
The World War I Document Archive
International in focus. Intends to present in one location primary documents concerning World War I.